Sunday, October 28, 2012

Dark Paradise

I've been listening to Dark Paradise by Lana Del Rey. I've fallen in love with the song, thanks to my sister. Since listening to it, I just felt so motivated to draw out a scene based around the song. I sketched out a basic picture, then I was hit with an idea that made the picture grow. Once I thought I was finished, I was dissatisfied with the outcome. It felt.. Empty. I talked with Sooz and she gave me an idea. After that I was happy with everything!

In the end, I am super happy with the outcome of this picture! It required a total of 20 layers. But it doesn't beat my picture that required 70 layers. Golly...

I've been trying to get more organized when it comes to art. I have a little program on my computer called Sticky Notes. I have two lists; a master list which has everything I need. Personal projects, requests, gifts, etc. My second list has things which I'm working on right now and deadlines. I keep no more than 5 things on that list at a time (unless something comes up with a deadline). It's been helping me a lot today! Tomorrow I have the day off, so I'm going to work on some more things. I have a trade which needs to be finished, a Halloween picture, and two private requests.

And this is all.

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Crash and Burn

I've been listening to Savage Garden lately. I loved them when I was growing up, and I love going back and listening to them again. I found a few songs I've never heard before, and so it's fun to listen to those.

I love music a lot. It really has a big influence in my art. I listen to music a lot... It helps me sleep at night. If anyone has suggestions for some new music, let me know! I need some new music to listen to. I also need to go through my iPod and take off songs I don't listen to.. Ever... And don't like...

Anyway. New art!

 Inspired by the song Crash and Burn by Savage Garden. There's even a speedpaint!

Just a chibi picture of Eva and Amadeus. 

Art trade with my good friend, Marz.

I have a few personal pictures I'll be working on next. One for Halloween and one that I started a couple months ago but forgot out. I'll post those in my next blog entry.

Now I'm not sure what else to say. I'm hungry.

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Summer to Fall

I just realized it's fall. This is kind of weird for me this year. It doesn't feel like fall at all. Sometimes when I'm outside, it feels like early summer or late spring. When I'm inside, it feels like Chrirstmas time. I have some new aloe infused socks which definitely give me a Christmas feeling! But you can imagine how disappointed I am when I step outside and see green leaves still.

Normally I dislike winter. I absolutely hate it. I have seasonal depression so winter is always a hard time for me. But at the same time, I absolutely love Christmas time. I love sitting in the house near the Christmas tree and looking at the lights. This year, it's just me and my younger sister for the most part. My parents will still get gifts for my other sisters and their husbands, but it's pretty much just me and Ryan.

We've spent a lot of time together lately, and we have a blast. Sometimes I just sit in her room and laugh for no reason. It creeps her out, but she fuels it by doing or saying something weird. It's not hard to make me laugh.


Anyway, a few updates, I guess...

Now that it's October, I've started buying a few gifts for people. I'm hoarding them until December then sending them out as Christmas gifts. They're going to be pretty pricey to send this year, especially my boyfriend's ($60). On the plus side, I'm almost done buying the things he put on his Christmas list (we exchanged lists early this year). He did ask or a few handmade things which I really should start working on soon.
I bought a gift for a friend. I won't say which friend because she's one of the ones who follows me on here (hi, you!). I'm waiting for it to arrive in the mail.
I have another friend and her boyfriend I want to shop for this year because their gifts were so late last year. I still have them, OOPS. SORRY. D: I have down-time on Friday. I'll see what I can get done then.
Then I have gifts for other people.

As for art stuff... I got a few pictures done recently. Below is just one I finished. I have one trade with Marz I'm still working on. I gave up working on it with my netbook because it was so slow. But now I have my laptop back so I'll finish it up soon. This picture will include an actual background, and it's just not something I can do very quickly. But so far, I'm loving how it looks. :)

And now I believe that is all I have to say for this post. I will probably update my blog later this weekend with some stories about my nieces and me hanging out with my sisters. This is mostly just an update blog since I haven't said anything in awhile.

By the way, for anyone who missed it, I'm no longer doing my original Christmas project. I'm starting something else.

Friday, October 5, 2012

Breakdown

I've been so stressed out and overwhelmed lately. It's been a few weeks since I had a day where I could sit back and do nothing. Every day for the past month or so, it seems like I'm always on the go.
This week has been particularly stressful. I made my car payment and I was left with around $100 for groceries for the week. Anything I spend on my sister and I, my dad will subtract from my plane ticket to Brazil.

I ended up splurging about buying myself a couple of Halloween plushies. I then bought myself and my sister some drinks. I bought groceries, put gas in my car, and dropped off my dad's dry cleaning. This morning, I had less than $10 in my checking account. It's been stressful. We have one night for dinner where we plan on going out for Chinese food. Along with the stress of my money, I've been working nearly every day. I've had shin splints, a pain in my wrist, and a swollen foot. Before the wedding, I had a horrible cough. I was never able to see a doctor because of work and the wedding..

Finally, I lost it. I had an emotional break down just before work and during work. I broke down and cried. It felt really good to cry, honestly. I got a lot off my chest and I felt like a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders. Crying is good. Especially when no one can see you. Luckily my breakdown at work didn't last long and it took place in the breakroom.

Half way through my shift, my manger handed me a sticky note with my name, today's date, and a note saying "$40.03" on it. At first I thought it was some sort of sick joke (I had told him I needed money and I was stressed out... I told him before my party showed up). So the money was a huge blessing.

Monday and Tuesday I have time off. Today, I started drawing a little bit. But just a little... I woke up at 10 AM, showered, ran errands, cleaned my room a bit, then worked on pictures until I had my breakdown. Then I had a 6 hour shift.

I also sent my laptop back the other day. I set up my netbook with another monitor so I can still draw digitally and stuff. Hopefully by the beginning of next week, I can show off some new art. I have a couple of ideas in my head already. :)

I have one gift I'm working on and it's all sketched out and ready to be outlined.
I have one trade I'm working on with Marz and it's outlined. I'm just making the lines look nicer.
And that is all.